## BIODIVERSITY AND CONSERVATION OF THE EASTERN ARC MOUNTAINS OF TANZANIA AND KENYA

Morogoro, Tanzania

1st-5th December 1997

Guest editors: N.D. Burgess, M.
Nummelin, J. Fjeldså, K.M. Howell, K.
Lukumbyzya, L. Mhando, P. Phillipson &
E. Vanden Berghe
L.A. Depew, production editor

## **DEDICATION**

This conference volume is dedicated to the memories of Karanja Murira (1947–1998) and Christine Mrema (born Mmari) (1959–1997).

Karanja Murira was the Director General of TAFORI and chairman of the Eastern Arc Mountains Conference Planning Committee. His contribution to the realisation of the conference, and thus to these proceedings was immense. May he rest in peace.

Christine Mrema died in a motor accident while conducting field survey work for one of the papers presented in this volume. We hope that the final product serves as an acknowledgement of her achievements. May she also rest in peace.

## LIST OF DELEGATES

Adha Shadan, Akitanda Patrick, Aleper Daniel, Ambrose Lesley, Anymike Gideon, Bakyayita Jasper, Balozi Johannes, Bampton Ivan, Bardtrum Lars, Bateson John, Beale David, Bhatia Zul, Botterweg Ronald, Buckley Paul, Burgess Neil, Butynski Tom, Chachage S., Chando Zedeck, Chengullah Enock, Chihongo Alex, Chingonikaya Emmanuel, Congdon Colin, Cordeiro Norbert, Cortzen Stine, Cunneyworth Pamela, Cunningham Tony, Dahl Ditte, Dallu Arthur, de Graaf Job, Dinesen Lars, Doggart Nike, Doughty Dennis, Eilu Gerald, Elia Frank, Figenschou Bjorn, Fjeldså Jon, Friedericks Jim, Frimodt-Møller Christian, Gachanja Michael, Gerau Roy, Gideon, Gitau David, Githiru Mwangi, Hafashimana David, Hameza K.F.S., Hamilton Alan, Härkönen Marja, Helle Timo, Hertel Gerard, Hipkiss Alex, Hochkirch Axel, Howell Kim, Hyytiäinen Kari, Iddi S., Isango, Ishengoma, Issara Daniel, Jøker Dorthe, Jalaskoski Teija, Johansson Stig, Kaguamba Richard, Kaiza-Boshe Tina, Kaoneka Abdallah, Karanja Francis, Kashaja Lucy, Kayere Juma, Kijanzi Adam, Kijazi Mwaniaiddi, Kilahama F.B., Kimende J., Kingston A.J., Kinyao N., Kiwia H.G., Kiza Ilia, Klemens Michael, Kondo Hamsa, Kurikka Tuula, Kusekwa Susuma Kayungilo, Kyoma Anna, Laurie William, Layman Angela, Lehmberg Thomas, Lema Matias, Lens Luc, Lesio Nicephor, Lindqvist Charlotte, Liseki Stephen, Lovett Jon, Luhende R., Luke Quentin, Lukumbuzya, Lulandala Luther, Lutkamu Mary Herman, Lyaruu Herbert, Mabula Charles, Madoffe S.S., Mafunda Dugushilu, Mahunnah R.L.A., Maliondo S.M.S., Mallango Ande, Mangora Mwita, Mariaux Jean, Masam Isaria, Masayanyibe Sammy, Mashana, Mashauri, Mathias S.C., Matthews Dina, Mayuma Cheyo, Mbago Frank, Mbeyale Gimbage, Mboya John, Mbwambo L., Mchonyo C.L., Meena Christine, Meshak Charles, Mhando Leonard, Mkhandi S.H., Mkilanya P.M., Mkombachepa Rashid, Mkuwizu Emile W., Mlingwa Charles, Mnangowe Isaya Yeremia, Mndeme Kilavo Hasani, Moehlman Patricia, Hassan Mohammed, Molle Neduvoto, Moshi Grace, Moyer David, Mramboah Gabriel, Mrema Frank, Mremi Josephine, Msanga Heriel Petro, Msangi Teonas, Mshana William, Msovella Ismael, Msuha M., Musuva Charles, Msuva Tuli, Mturi F.A., Mubiry Richard, Muheto Ruzika, Mujillah Ellasy, Mukingu Elia, Murira Karanja, Mushi Jacob, Musila Winfred Mwongeli, Mutangah Joseph Goko, Mwangi G., Mwanyimba D., Mwang'iro P., Mwasanga Balekebajobege, Mwasumbi Leonard, Mwihomeke Steven, Nahonyo C.L., Nandrie Joseph, Nashanda E.N., Ndangalasi Henry, Nduwamungu Jean, Newmark William, Nikundiwe A.N., Njau D.R., Noah Lameck, Norden Lars, Nshubemuki Ladislaus, Nummelin Matti, Nyanzi Nelson, Nyundo Bruno, Odhiambo Richard, Oguge Nicholas Otienoh, Ojala Katja, Olemeingataki Godwell E., Olsen Jens, Peacock Bridget, Pedersen Ulrik, Perkin Andrew, Phillipson Peter, Pócs Támas, Qaraeen Arif, Rasmussen Kate, Rodgers Alan, Rogo Lucie, Rottcher Bernd, Ruffo Christopher, Rugiga Frederick, Rulangaranga Zac, Sabuni Francis, Salehe John, Saramaki Jussi, Sarlo Leahanne, Sawe, Schaffalitzky Ulrikka, Schlage Christina, Schulman Leif, Senzota R.B., Shangali C., Shango Edwin, Shemkong'wa, Shirima Augustine, Simiyu Stella, Sisila Sylvester, Stephenson Peter, Stubblefield Leigh, Sumbi Peter, Susuma K., Swai Issai, Temu Ruwa-Aichi, Tessema Yemi, Thompson Barbara, Thomsen Jørgen, Titu John, Topp-Jørgensen Elmer, Urasa Felister, Alstrup Vagn, Vanha-Majamaa Ilkka, Waiyaki Edward, Westergaard Mette, Wild Robert, Wium-Andersen Gudrun, Wium-Andersen Søren, Woodcock Kerry, Yarro J.G., Ylhaisi Jussi.

## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

The Eastern Arc Conference was held in Morogoro, Tanzania, between 1 and 5 December 1997. It was attended by over 200 delegates from a wide variety of countries, representing biologists, resource managers and social scientists with an interest in the biodiversity and conservation of the mountain forests and associated human communities of the Eastern Arc Mountains of Kenya and Tanzania. The gathering was a great success with papers presented by experts from all over the globe to the assembled delegates. In addition 53 posters were exhibited and discussions held on a number of relevant subjects in six working groups.

Funding for the conference was provided by a variety of donors. Especially thanked in this regard are FINNIDA, DANIDA–ENRECA, the RSPB, Belgian Aid and NORAD. Collectively these organisations funded the main expenses of the conference and paid for the participation of a number of delegates. Considerable time and energy was committed before and during the conference by members of the Tanzania Forestry Research Institute (TAFORI), members of the FORST (Finnish Support for Forestry Research in Tanzania) Project, staff of the Danish Centre for Tropical Biodiversity (CTB) and the Zoological Museum in Copenhagen, and representatives of the National Environment Management Council, University of Dar es Salaam, Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania Forest Department, the National Herbarium in Arusha, and the GEF programme in eastern and Southern Africa.

A Planning Committee held several meetings prior to the conference to oversee the development of the programme and planning of the main aims of the conference. A wide variety of Tanzanian Institutions was represented on this committee, and its members were K.K. Murira (Chairman), M. Nummelin, G.C. Kajembe, J. Salehe, L. Nshubemuki, U. Eerola, J.S. Mgoo, T.H. Msangi, A.W. Chihongo, M.L. Mhando, J. Saramaki, N.D. Burgess, W.A. Rodgers, K.M. Howell, P. Phillipson. A further Task Force, mainly of staff members of TAFORI, attended to the practical details of the conference organisation and its implementation. This group consisted of K.K. Murira, M. Nummelin, T.H. Msangi, L. Nshubemuki, M.L. Mhondo, A.W. Chihongo and N.D. Burgess.

Their efforts led to the good organisation of the conference and in particular the presence of the Vice President of Tanzania (Dr Omar Ali Juma), the Honourable Minister for Natural Resources (Mrs Zakia Meghji), and the Director of Forestry and Beekeeping (Professor S. Iddi).

An editorial committee made comments on the papers, and this edited volume. This committee consisted of the editors of this volume and Peter Phillipson, Lars Dinesen, Tom Romdall and especially Louis A. Hansen who read the entire proceedings twice and found many errors.